Senior Trials

2019/2020 trials

The remaining trials for 2020 will be postponed indefinitely, including the closing date of entry, until such time as certainty is restored regarding Covid-19. The events will be rescheduled when possible and new deadlines will be made public once the dates have been fixed.

Senior Olympiad Trials

The format is a two-day round-robin followed by a two-day final. Please refer to the Olympiad Trials Announcement for details of timetable based on number of entries. Please send entries to Charlie Bucknell - - by 5pm April 9th 2020. Senior Olympiad Trials are held on the 25th – 28th April, also in the Young Chelsea Bridge Club. Entries are open for all and are to be taken in teams. Entry fee is £440 per team.

Mossop David Mossop, John Holland, Paul Hackett, Norman Selway, Brian Senior, Gunnar Hallberg
Shields Patrick Shields, Richard Chamberlain, Graham Sadie, Richard Granville, Peter Lee
Ward Trevor Ward, John Hassett, David Kendrick, Alan Mayo, Ed Scerri, Steve Eginton

Senior European Trials

Entry is £440 per team and is of one stage on the 1st and 2nd February 2020 as a two-day head to head match. It will be held in the Young Chelsea Bridge Club. Entries are now closed.

Entries Received

Dhondy Jeremy Dhondy Brian Callaghan David Kendrick Alan Mayo John Hassett Trevor Ward
Mossop David Mossop (C) Brian Senior Norman Selway John Holland Paul Hackett Gunnar Hallberg

Teltscher Trophy Trials

Entries for the 2020 Teltscher Trophy have now closed.

14th - 15th December 2019 West Midlands Bridge Club The entry fee is £340 per team.

Eligibility criteria

In 2017 the World Bridge Federation's Executive Council began to raise the age requirement for Senior players to 65 over an 8 year period in accordance with the following schedule: - Born in 1957 or earlier for the championship in 2018 - Born in 1958 or earlier for the championships in 2019 and 2020 - Born in 1959 or earlier for the championships in 2021 and 2022 - Born in 1960 or earlier for the championships in 2023 and 2024 - Born in 1961 or earlier for the championships in 2025 and 2026 The European Bridge League and Bridge Great Britain have changed the eligibility criteria for their Seniors competitions in line with this. Therefore, players need to be born in 1958 or earlier to play in the Teltscher Trophy in 2020.

Entries Received

Brock Sally Brock Barry Myers Nicola Smith Rob Sheehan
Davies Sandy Davies Tom Gisborne Tony Sowter Dave Robinson
Dhondy Jeremy Dhondy Bill Hirst John Hassett Trevor Ward
Granville Richard Granville Patrick Shields Graham Sadie Richard Chamberlain
Harris Jonathan Harris Steve Capal David Burn Andrew Sobell
Mossop David Mossop Alan Mould Paul Hackett John Holland Brian Senior Gunnar Hallberg
Penfold Sandra Penfold Norman Selway Tony Forrester David Kendrick
Pryor Malcolm Pryor Chris Chambers Ed Scerri Steve Eginton