
Panel TD Promotion Exam – 2007 

Name ……………………………………………………… 

You should attempt all the questions. You are allowed to use your Law Book, Orange 
Book, White Book and any other information which is available. 

Where possible you should give Law references or OB references. 
Marks are given for correct answers – not long essays. So if it helps give your answers 
in note form or as bullet points. 

There is no time limit – about an hour.  Marks: 1 per response 

Questions 1 to 18 are true/false 

1) Dummy has ♠QJ2 ♥KQ3 ♦Q43 ♣Q2 left and won the last trick with ♠K. Clubs are 
trumps. Declarer now asks for the Q, after which dummy asks; ‘which queen’? 

Declarer may choose any of them. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

2) The auction goes 
W  N  E  S 
2NT  pass  2♣ 
2♣ (asking bid) is not accepted and replaced by pass. South becomes declarer in 3♦. 

South may prohibit West to lead a club. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

3) East opens 2♦(weak two in diamonds) out of turn and not accepted. North to call 
opens with 1♣ and East overcalls with 1♦. 

West has to pass for one round only. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference:



4) East opens 2♦ (weak and a transfer for hearts) out of turn and not accepted. West to 
call. 

West has to pass for one round only. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

5) East opens 2♦ (multi) out of turn and not accepted. North to call opens 1♣ and East 
overcalls 2♥. 

West has to pass for one round only. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

6) W  N  E  S 
pass  pass 
South passes out of turn; that call is not accepted. 

South has to pass for one round only. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

7) W  N  E  S 
1♣  pass 
South passes out of turn; that call is not accepted. 

South has to pass for one round only. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

8) In a competitive auction North hesitates for a long time before passing. The TD is 
called. The TD should tell South to ignore the hesitation and to make the call he would 
have made without the hesitation. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

9) When a defender during play names a card belonging to his hand without 
simultaneously playing it that card becomes a penalty card. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference:



10) By law a player must count his cards before putting them back in the board 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

11) North is primarily responsible for maintaining proper conditions at the table 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

12) As long as consecutive cards are not dealt to the same pile, any way of dealing 13 
cards to each player (ok...face down) is legal. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

13) When RHO (of declarer) has played to the first trick it is too late for any player to ask 
for a review of the auction. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

14) During the play dummy may not look at an opponent’s convention card. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

15) North to open bids 1♣ and immediately replaces it with 1NT. East then places the 1♠ 
on the table saying that he accepts the 1♣­bid. 
The 1NT is withdrawn without a penalty 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

16) North bids 1NT out of turn. It is not accepted and North subsequently passes 
throughout.  East ends up declarer in 4♠. East can ask South to lead a specified suit. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference:



17) Dummy may during play ask a defender about a possible revoke before it becomes 
established. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

18) Following a call out of rotation either opponent may accept the call. 

TRUE  FALSE 
Law reference: 

Questions 19 and 20 are on the current Orange Book as amended on August 1 st 
2007 

19) Under current Orange Book regulations, which bids in the following sequence should 
be alerted? 

West  North  East  South 
1♥(a)  1♠(b)  3♥(c)  Dbl(d) 
4♣(e)  Pass  4♠ Dbl(f) 
6♣ all Pass 

OB Reference 
(a)  Could have a longer minor  Yes/No 
(b)  May be 4 cards  Yes/No 
(c)  Pre­empt  Yes/No 
(d)  Game try in spades  Yes/No 
(e)  Natural: at least as long as the hearts  Yes/No 
(f)  Do not lead a spade  Yes/No 

20) 
a) Explain the current Orange Book regulation for ‘Extended rule of 25’ 

b) Give an example of a hand that now qualifies for an artificial two opening that was not 
permitted on July 31 st 2007.



In questions 21 to 28 ring the answer you think is correct. 

21) Dealer South / Game All 
♠5
♥K986 
♦T8743 
♣A74 

♠K97  ♠ JT8432 
♥74  ♥AQJ53 
♦QJ952  ♦A 
♣Q52  ♣ 6 

♠AQ6 
♥T2 
♦K6 
♣KJT983 

W  N  E  S 
1♣ 

pass  1♥  2♠?  pass 
pass  3♣  4♠  pass 
pass  pass 
2♠ explained as weak. 
Declarer makes 10 tricks after a ♥­lead. 
Somewhat surprised South calls the TD: the east hand doesn’t comply with the 
explanation. The TD establishes that the explanation was right. 

He decides: 

a) score stands  b) 3♣ just made to NS 
c) another adjusted score; if so, which one? 

Should the decision be different if the explanation had been wrong? Yes / no 

22) Dealer East / Love All 

♠A76 
♥A96 
♦KQ5 
♣AK84 

♠5  ♠J98432 
♥J85  ♥74 
♦JT8742  ♦3 
♣J63  ♣Q952 

♠KQT 
♥KQT32 
♦A96 
♣T7 

South is declarer in 7♥. Diamond lead won with the K, ♥A and small heart from dummy 
on which East discards a spade. Being one off now South wins with ♥K and continues 
with ♣A and K on which he discards a spade (revoke). Then a small spade towards ♠K 
and then ♠Q played, ruffed by west who continues a diamond ruffed by east!!.



Discovering the earlier revoke by east South calls the TD. Continuing play West ruffs 
another spade and the defence makes 3 tricks. 
What decision does the TD take? 

a) 10 tricks to NS  b) 13 tricks to NS 
c) 40% to both sides  d) split score: 10 tricks for NS and 1 trick for EW . 

23)  Dealer N/NS Vulnerable 

♣ A652 
♣ T7  ♣ Q83 

♣ KJ94 

South is declarer in 3NT and the club position is as shown. South plays ♣4 from hand 
and West takes a long time before playing ♣7. After winning with the ace declarer plays 
the ♣2 from dummy and plays the king hoping for the drop of the queen. This not 
happening he calls the TD telling him to be misled by the long pause in West before 
playing to the previous trick. (west has no reason to unblock the suit with for example 
Q7) 

Decision 
a) adjust the score  b) do not adjust the score 

24) 
♠ AK42 
♥ A84 
♦ A4 
♣ AKQ7 

♠ Q93  ♠ T5 
♥ J752  ♥ Q96 
♦ J6  ♦ 987532 
♣ JT86  ♣ 92 

♠ J876 
♥ KT(3) 
♦ KQT 
♣ 543 

North plays 6♠. East starts with ♥6. Declarer plays the ♥K, ♠A and K, ♥A and ruffs a 
heart (revoke). Now the ♦A, K and Q ruffed by West and declarer discarding a club in his 
hand. He claims but at that moment the defenders discover that dummy is a card short. 
That appears to be the ♥3 still stuck in the board. 

Decision 

a) 6♠ made  b) 6♠ ­ 1



25)  Dealer West/ Love All 

♠ J6 
♥ JT 
♦ AKQ84 
♣ KJ74 

♠ AT7  ♠ K2 
♥ A653  ♥ KQ972 
♦ 32  ♦ JT7 
♣ 9532  ♣ AQ8 

♠ Q98543 
♥ 84 
♦ 965 
♣ T6 

W  N  E  S 
1NT  2♥  2♠ 

3♥  3♠  p(H)  pass 
4♥  X  all pass 
4♥X makes. NS call the TD, challenging the 4♥­bid after the alleged hesitation by East 
before his first pass. 

a) Is the 4♥­bid acceptable? Yes / no 

b) assume the answer in a) is ‘no’ (not necessarily the right answer) and the double by 
North is considered wild or gambling (subsequent damage). The result at the other table 
is 
4♥ making and 3♠ (not doubled) is decided to be 3 off. 

Calculate the result………………………………………………………………………………. 

26)  Dealer E/EW Vulnerable 

♠ 83 
♥ 975 
♦ KJT432 
♣ Q6 

♠ 74  ♠ A94 
♥ J83  ♥ AKT4 
♦ A6  ♦ Q85 
♣ AJ8742  ♣ KT3 

♠ KQJT52 
♥ Q62 
♦ 97 
♣ 95 

East opened 1NT and South overcalled 2♠. East declares 3NT. South starts with ♠K 
which wins the trick. In the second trick (lead ♠Q) north revokes by playing a heart. East 
takes the trick , plays ♣K and takes a finesse in clubs. North wins and meanwhile found 
the missing spade, which he leads in trick 5. NS make 6 tricks. TD! East will say that he 
thought to have a free finesse. If north would have followed suit he might have played 
the ♣A instead of taking the finesse, so he tells.



Decision 
a) 3NT + 1  b) 3NT + 2 

c) 3NT + 3  d) a weighted score 

27)  Dealer South /Game All 
♠ Q9642 
♥ J763 
♦ 5 
♣ T92 

♠ KT3  ♠ none 
♥ Q9842  ♥ AT5 
♦ J6  ♦ AT9742 
♣ AK7  ♣ QJ64 

♠ AJ875 
♥ K 
♦ KQ83 
♣ 853 

W  N  E  S 
1♠ 

pass  3♠  3NT  all pass 
3NT was not alerted. There were no alerts or explanations by East before the opening 
lead. South starts a small diamond and East makes 3NT + 1. South complains about the 
non alert of the 3NT bid, East intended it as ‘unusual’ showing the minors. But West says 
that they do not have such a crazy agreement: ‘I have never heard of it, shouldn’t we be 
able to play a simple 3NT­contract?’. There is nothing on the convention card about the 
meaning of this bid. South thinks that both opponents: West hearing the auction and 
knowing that East doesn’t have spades, and East intending to play in a minor suit, 
should have said something before the first lead. 

Decision: 
a) result stands  b) 3NT – 2 

c) 3NT – 1  d) weighted score including 3NT – 1 and ­ 2. 

28)  Dealer East/ Love all 
♠ 84 
♥ none 
♦ J8 
♣ 7 

♠ KT63  ♠ QJ92 
♥ J  ♥ K 
♦ none  ♦ none 
♣ none  ♣ none 

♠ A75 
♥ none 
♦ none 
♣ QT 

South declares 5♣ and has made 7 tricks (lost 1). He leads the ♠A from his hand and 
discards a diamond in dummy. Nobody notices. When playing the ♠5 in the next trick he 
discovers his mistake and calls the TD.



What result should the TD decide for? 
a) 5♣ made  b) 5♣ ­ 1 

29) 
On board 7 in the Red section of an ordinary Pairs you decide to give a weighted score 
to NS of 40% of +620 for 4♠ making, 20% of +800 for 5♥ doubled ­4, 20% of +650 for 4♠ 
+1 and 20% of ­100 for 4♠ ­1. 

Data: 
A top on the board is 24 
Match points are as follows: 
+800 not on the traveller 
+680 scores 24 match points 
+650 scores 20 match points 
+620 scores 14 match points 
­100 scores 2 match points 

Calculate the match point score for N/S …………………………………………………… 

30) 
You are asked to organise the county pairs final at a local hotel. 
28 pairs have qualified 

They will expect to play between 48 and 56 boards with a 45 minute break for tea about 
half way. 
(a)  Prepare a timetable 
(b)  You can have duplicated boards but you must order them in advance. What will 

you order? 
(c)  What other equipment must you ensure you have for the tournament? 

(note ­ Bridgemates are not being used) 
(d)  What movement will you plan?  How will you arrange the second session. 

(e)  On the day an extra pair turn up claiming to have qualified for the final. How can 
you accommodate them? 

(Write your answers to this question on the reverse of this page)



Answers 
1 false law 46B3(a) 
2 true law 26B 
3 true law 31A2 
4 false law 31B 
5 false law 31A2(b) 
6 true law 30A 
7 false law 30B2(a) 
8 false law 73C or 16 
9 true law 49, 68 
10 false law 7 C 
11 false law 7D 
12 true law 6 
13 true law 41B 
14 true law 40E2 
15 false law 25B1 
16 false 26B 
17 false law 61B 
18 true law 29A 

19 a) Y (5G2b), 
b) N (5G3d), 
c) Y (5G2c3), 
d) Y (5G4c), 
e) N (5E4), 
f) Y (5E4c) 
20 8 clear cut tricks, rule of 25 or 16HCPs. B) any correct example 
21 b no. Some credit for small % of 3♣+1 
22 b 
23 b 
24 b or do we want a ? 
25 no team EW ­ 7 imps team NS + 2 imps 
WE DISAGREE HERE.  I agree that EW score +150 – 420 = 270 = ­7IMP.  The 
NS + 2 is a ‘rest of the world’ ruling : North’s double was daft and cost him 590 – 
420 = 170 = 5IMP.  Subtract this from the 7 IMP he would have lost without the 
double and you are  left with   +2.   I  think that we would say that once West bids 
over 3♠, NS cannot gain on the board.  It is only when the non­offending side are



still  able  to  get  a  good  board  following  an  infraction  that  we  stick  them  with 
anything  stupid  they  do  subsequently.    North  should  not  be  in  the  position  of 
having to guess what to do, therefore, the score should be 7IMP for both sides. 
I  don’t  like  ‘the APPARENT  hesitation’  or  the  reference  to  ‘bad bridge’.    Prefer 
‘gambling’. 

26 a 
27 a 
28 b – 63C 
29, 20% of +800 for 5♥ doubled ­4 = 0.2 x 24  = 4.8 
20% of +650 for 4♠ +1  = 0.2 x 20  = 4.0 
40% of +620 for 4♠ making  = 0.4 x 14  = 5.6 
20% of ­100 for 4♠ ­1  = 0.2 x 2  = 0.4 

Total  = 14.8 

30


