New Online Ethics Investigation Group

September 11, 2020

The Laws and Ethics Committee has created an Online Ethics Investigation Group to examine cases of suspected cheating and provide the EBU’s Prosecution Panel with information to help them when cases arise from this. The group is headed by Sarah Bell and currently comprises David Burn, Joe Fawcett, Nick Sandqvist, Ben Norton, Peter Clinch, Stephen Kennedy, Neeraj Tanna and Michael Byrne.

The EBU Disciplinary Panel has also been developing sentencing guidance for national use, which may be helpful for other bodies involved in any disciplinary cases of this sort. It establishes the standard sanction for cheating as an individual to be 3 years membership suspension and for any pair that colludes the standard sanction will be 10 years suspension from membership. The names and sanctions should be published on the front page of the website. An admission of guilt will usually result in a reduction of a third of the appropriate sanction for the offence as set out in the Disciplinary Panel's sentencing guidance. This reduction adheres to the advice set out by the Sentencing Council of England and Wales New cases should continue to be raised by contacting

Updated membership list (August 2021)

Sarah Bell
Steve Green
Stephen Kennedy
Peter Clinch
David Burn
Trevor Mathews
Alex Roberts
Nick Sandqvist
Joe Fawcett